Running Progression

  • Below you will find 2 things:
    • Return to running progression broken into levels of difficulty
      • These levels are a guide, and everyone does not need to start at level 1…BUT the first time you try this, have the mindset of making it too easy versus making it too hard
      • You want to pick a level that is too easy so you at least know a safe zone prior to pushing the limits
    • Soreness Rules:
      • Rules that will guide you as to how much rest and what level you should be training at
  • Return to Run Levels:
    • 1: walk 1 minute, jog 1 minute for 10 minutes
    • 2: same as above for 15 minutes
    • 3: same as above for 20 minutes
    • 4: walk 1 min jog 2 min for 10 min
    • 5: same as above for 15 min
    • 6: same as above for 20 min
    • 7-9: walk 1 min jog 3 min (10min, 15min, 20min)
    • 10-12: walk 1 min jog 4 min (10min, 15min, 20min)
    • 13-15: walk 1 min jog 5 min (10min, 15min, 20min)
    • 16-18:jog only (10min, 15min, 20min)
    • 19-21: jog 1min, run 1 min (10min, 15min, 20min)
    • 22-24: jog 1 min run 2 min (10min, 15min, 20min)
    • 25-27: jog 1 min, run 3 min (10min, 15min, 20min)
    • 28-30: jog 1 min run 4 min (10min, 15min, 20min)
    • 31-33: jog 1min run 5 min (10min, 15min, 20min)
    • 34-36: run only (10min, 15min, 20min)
  • Soreness Rules
    • *These rules are meant to guide your progress through a walking/running program in an effort to allow individuals to progress safely without over training. They are based on the symptoms that you experience during and after workouts. These rules are based on an article in the Journal of Orthopedic & Sports Physical Therapy that set up a program for individuals returning to running following ACL repair.
      1. Soreness during the warm up that continues during the session = 2 days off, drop down a level
      2. Soreness during the warm up that goes away = Stay at that level
      3. Soreness during the warm up that goes away but redevelops during session = 2 days off, drop down a level
      4. Soreness the day after (not muscle soreness) = 1 day off, do not advance program
      5. No Soreness = Advance 1 level once there is no soreness for 3 consecutive attempts at that level